You are here

Nigel Ball

Senior Lecturer / Course Leader for Graphic Design

Nigel's design practice grew out of the 'do-it-yourself' culture of the 1980s, producing artwork for bands and activist groups while working as a print finisher and book binder. After leaving the print trade and completing a BA (Hons) in Graphic Design & Illustration, he set-up his own studio practice dedicating his time to clients from the cultural, public and voluntary sectors. He started his first teaching post in 2003 and joined University of Suffolk’s graphic design team in 2007. He has a PGCE in Post Compulsory Education and an MA in Arts Practice.


Teaching 

Ideas Generation in Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration
Contexts in Graphic Design and Illustration
Design and Illustration Analysis
Conceptual Projects
Work Based Learning
Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration Portfolio Development
Personal Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration Projects
Critical Review

 

Research interests

Nigel's research is underpinned by an interest in the societal impact of graphic design, and in turn, the discipline’s wider social responsibilities. His current research investigates the visual culture of public space, and questions how graphic design in the everyday affect’s environmental ambiences and human behaviour. He explores these contexts through photography and writing, self-publishing his visual and textual responses in print and online. Nigel maintains the Field Readings blog, dedicated to critical writing about graphic design and visual culture, and is an occasional contributor to the blog of Eye magazine, the International Review of Graphic Design.

Read Nigel's blog at fieldreadings.co.uk
Follow @_nigelball on Twitter and Instagram 

 

Publications

Fundamentals of Graphic Design, with Gavin Ambrose and Paul Harris (London, Bloomsbury Academic, 2019) 

Aesthetics of Convenience, (Ipswich, Field Readings, 2019)

The People's History Museum, (Ontario, Mainly Museums, 2019) Available at: mainlymuseums.com/stories/Peoples-History-Museum.html 

Ending the War on Wildlife, (London, Eye Magazine, 2018) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/ending-the-war-on-wildlife

Creative Collaboration, (London, Creative Review and Dropbox, 2018) Available at: lp.dropboxbusiness.com/rs/077-ZJT-858/images/creative-review-collaboration-report.pdf 

Proposing The Graphic Commons, (Ipswich, Field Readings, 2017).

Survival Guide, (London, Eye Magazine, 2016) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/survival-guide

Gutter Press, (London, Eye Magazine, 2016) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/gutter-press

Graphic Language, (Essex, EngLangBlog, 2015) Available at: englishlangsfx.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/graphic-language.html

Design For Life, (London, Eye Magazine, 2015) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/design-for-life

Back When The Future Looked Bright, (London, Eye Magazine, 2013) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/back-when-the-future-looked-bright

McJunk, (Ipswich, Dubdog Publishing, 2011).