You are here

Nigel Ball

Senior Lecturer and Graphic Design Course Leader

Nigel’s graphic design practice grew out of the 'do-it-yourself' culture of the 1980s, producing artwork for bands and activist groups alongside working in the print trade as a printer and finisher. After completing a BA (Hons) in Graphic Design & Illustration as a mature student, he worked as a freelance graphic designer dedicating his practice to clients from the cultural, public and voluntary sectors. Nigel started teaching in 2003 and has a PGCE in Post Compulsory Education and an MA in Arts Practice.

Nigel joined the Graphic Design programme at the University of Suffolk in 2007 and has been its Course Leader since 2011. He lectures on both practical and contextual modules across all levels of the BA (Hons) Graphic Design and BA (Hons) Graphic Design (Graphic Illustration) courses. Nigel's teaching focuses on the importance of ideas in visual communication, embedding transferrable employment skills within curriculum delivery, and encouraging a critical perspective on contemporary design practice. He is a member of the School of Art, Design and Humanities Executive Committee, and is the School's Student Experience lead. 

Read Nigel's blog at fieldreadings.co.uk
Follow @_nigelball on Twitter and Instagram 
 

Teaching 

Ideas Generation in Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration
Contexts in Graphic Design and Illustration
Design and Illustration Analysis
Conceptual Projects
Work Based Learning
Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration Portfolio Development
Personal Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration Projects
Dissertation (contributor)
Critical Review

Research interests

Nigel's research investigates the visual culture of public space and shared environments. He has a keen interest in how visual communication can affect people's behaviour and psychology, and as a result, questions how graphic design as a discipline responds to its societal responsibilities. He explores these contexts through writing, photography and self-publishing. Alongside these interests he maintains the Field Readings blog dedicated to critical writing about graphic design and visual culture, and has written for the blog of Eye magazine.

Publications

Currently revision author for Fundamentals of Graphic Design, (London, Bloomsbury Academic Publishing) Forthcoming 2019.

Field Readings: On Graphic Design and Visual Culture, (2019) Available at: fieldreadings.co.uk

Ending the War on Wildlife, (2018) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/ending-the-war-on-wildlife

Creative Collaboration, (London, Creative Review and Dropbox, 2018) Available at: lp.dropboxbusiness.com/rs/077-ZJT-858/images/creative-review-collaboration-report.pdf 

Proposing The Graphic Commons, (Ipswich, Field Readings, 2017).

Survival Guide, (2016) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/survival-guide

Gutter Press, (2016) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/gutter-press

Graphic Language, (2015) Available at: englishlangsfx.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/graphic-language.html

Design For Life, (2015) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/design-for-life

Back When The Future Looked Bright, (2013) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/back-when-the-future-looked-bright

McJunk, (Ipswich, Dubdog Publishing, 2011).