You are here

Nigel Ball

Senior Lecturer and Graphic Design Course Leader

Nigel joined the Graphic Design programme at University of Suffolk in 2007 and has been Course Leader since 2011. His graphic design practice grew out of the 'do-it-yourself' culture of the 1980s, producing artwork for bands and activist groups while working as a print finisher and book binder. After leaving the print trade to complete a BA (Hons) in Graphic Design & Illustration, Nigel set up his own studio practice dedicated to clients from the cultural, public and voluntary sectors. Nigel started his first teaching post in 2003, and has a PGCE in Post Compulsory Education and an MA in Arts Practice.


Teaching 
Ideas Generation in Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration
Contexts in Graphic Design and Illustration
Design and Illustration Analysis
Conceptual Projects
Work Based Learning
Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration Portfolio Development
Personal Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration Projects
Dissertation (contributor)
Critical Review

 

Research interests
Nigel's research investigates the visual culture of shared environments, and in particular how graphic design in public spaces can affect psychology and behaviour. He explores these contexts through writing, photography and self-publishing. Nigel also maintains the Field Readings blog dedicated to critical writing about graphic design and visual culture, and is an occasional contributor to the blog of Eye magazine, the International Review of Graphic Design.

Read Nigel's blog at fieldreadings.co.uk
Follow @_nigelball on Twitter and Instagram 

 

Publications
Fundamentals of Graphic Design, (London, Bloomsbury Academic) Forthcoming 2019.

Field Readings: On Graphic Design and Visual Culture, (2019) Available at: fieldreadings.co.uk

Ending the War on Wildlife, (2018) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/ending-the-war-on-wildlife

Creative Collaboration, (London, Creative Review and Dropbox, 2018) Available at: lp.dropboxbusiness.com/rs/077-ZJT-858/images/creative-review-collaboration-report.pdf 

Proposing The Graphic Commons, (Ipswich, Field Readings, 2017).

Survival Guide, (2016) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/survival-guide

Gutter Press, (2016) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/gutter-press

Graphic Language, (2015) Available at: englishlangsfx.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/graphic-language.html

Design For Life, (2015) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/design-for-life

Back When The Future Looked Bright, (2013) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/back-when-the-future-looked-bright

McJunk, (Ipswich, Dubdog Publishing, 2011).