You are here

Nigel Ball

Senior Lecturer and Graphic Design Course Leader

Nigel’s graphic design practice grew out of the DIY culture of the late 1980s, producing artwork for bands and activist groups alongside working in the print industry as a finisher and book binder. After completing a BA (Hons) in Graphic Design & Illustration, he worked as a freelance graphic designer dedicating his time to clients from the cultural, public and voluntary sectors. Nigel started teaching in 2003, and gained his PGCE in Post Compulsory Education in 2005. He has since completed an MA in Arts Practice, specialising in critical design writing.

Nigel joined the Graphic Design programme in 2007 and has been its Course Leader since 2011. He lectures across all levels of the BA (Hons) Graphic Design and BA (Hons) Graphic Design (Graphic Illustration) courses on both practical and contextual modules. Nigel's teaching focuses on the importance of ideas in visual communication, embedding transferrable employment skills within curriculum delivery, and encouraging a critical perspective on contemporary design practice. He is actively involved in a broad range of academic and institutional committees, and is the Student Experience lead for the School of Art, Design and Humanities.

Read Nigel's blog at fieldreadings.co.uk
Follow @_nigelball on Twitter or Instagram 
 

Teaching 

Ideas Generation in Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration
Contexts in Graphic Design and Illustration
Design and Illustration Analysis
Conceptual Projects
Work Based Learning
Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration Portfolio Development
Personal Graphic Design / Graphic Illustration Projects
Critical Review

Research interests

Nigel's research investigates graphic design in public spaces and shared environments. He has a keen interest in how visual communication can affect people's behaviour and psychology, and as a result, questions how graphic design as a discipline responds to its societal responsibilities. He explores these contexts through photography and self-publishing, alongside maintaining the Field Readings blog dedicated to critical writing about graphic design and visual culture.

Publications

Currently revision author for Fundamentals of Graphic Design, (London, Bloomsbury Academic Publishing) Forthcoming 2019.

Field Readings: On Graphic Design and Visual Culture, (2018) Available at: fieldreadings.co.uk

Creative Collaboration, (London, Creative Review and Dropbox, 2018) Available at: lp.dropboxbusiness.com/rs/077-ZJT-858/images/creative-review-collaboration-report.pdf 

Proposing The Graphic Commons, (Ipswich, Field Readings, 2017).

Survival Guide, (2016) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/survival-guide

Gutter Press, (2016) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/gutter-press

Graphic Language, (2015) Available at: englishlangsfx.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/graphic-language.html

Design For Life, (2015) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/design-for-life

Back When The Future Looked Bright, (2013) Available at: eyemagazine.com/blog/post/back-when-the-future-looked-bright

McJunk, (Ipswich, Dubdog Publishing, 2011).