You are here

SNAP Award winners announced

19 Mar 2021 4:15PM

We are delighted to announce the winner and runner-up in the Student New Angle Writing Awards (SNAP) 2021.

The Winner of the 2021 SNAP Writing Awards is The Singing Tides’ by Bradley Garnham  and the Runner-up is ‘Aelfthryth’ by Sarah Clark. Both are in their final year studying BA (Hons) English.

The judge, actress and novelist Esther Freud, stated that “It was a pleasure to immerse myself in the sights and sounds of East Anglia, and to be reminded, yet again, of its richness and inspiration.”

The competition organiser Dr Amanda Hodgkinson, Course Leader for the MA in Creative and Critical Writing,  said “I was delighted to see the amazing standard of writing submitted to the SNAP Writing Awards this year.”

Esther Freud found the judging to an absolute pleasure, saying “Each of these six short pieces invoked the spirit of east Anglia. The writers clearly take pleasure in the very special landscape and atmosphere and the stories spoke of churches, castles, coastlines, even the local pub, clearly relishing the sense of place. The two that combined these elements with a particular flair for story telling were the runner up entry, ‘Aelfthryth’ by Sarah Clark, with its suspense and danger, and the overall winning story ‘The Singing Tides,’ by Bradley Garham. This was a piece of writing which brings us history in its very rhythms.”

The Shortlist for SNAP 2021:

'A Good Day's Work in Lavenham' by Amber Spalding

'Framlingham Castle' by Amy Bessent

'The Singing Tides' by Bradley Garnham

'Christchurch Reminiscence' by Elliot Woods

'The Afternoon Walk' by Jeremy Evans

'Aelfthryth' by Sarah Clark





University of Suffolk Press Office