You are here

Staff Default Image

Working here

University of Suffolk offers a wide range of excellent facilities and benefits to staff. We offer generous holiday allowances, together with flexible working and a contributory pension scheme. We believe the wellbeing of staff is extremely important - for full details see:

Staff Development


As a staff member, you will be able to access all of the development sessions that we offer. We ensure that training needs are identified and provision is in place to meet institutional, as well as individual, needs.

We work closely with specialist internal and external providers to design programmes which meet these specific requirements.

  • Academic Leadership
  • Management Development
  • Research and Scholarly Activity
  • Teaching and Learning
  • Health and Safety
  • Equality and Diversity
  • Personal Development
  • IT

Personal Study


We offer a 100% fee waiver for any member of staff wishing to study a University of Suffolk undergraduate or postgraduate course, irrespective of the relevance to their job role. A 25% fee waiver is also extended to University staff by both the University of Essex and the University of East Anglia for study on any of their courses.




The Ipswich Campus is the main hub of the University and is built around and along the Ipswich Waterfront and Marina. Here you will find buildings that have been equipped to deliver the very best in learning and teaching facilities, with teaching labs (such as the Virtual Environment for Radiotherapy Training), lecture theatres and seminar rooms equipped with the latest technologies.

The James Hehir Building includes the latest clinical skills and sports and exercise laboratories, along with specialist bioscience teaching and research facilities.

The Arts Building has among its many facilities; painting, sculpture, drawing and print studios; installation and video spaces; a film studio; and two dance studios. There is also a cafe and social space for students and staff to enjoy. This complements a cafe and gallery in the Waterfront Building and Cult Cafe Bar in the James Hehir Building.

University of Suffolk at Suffolk New College is situated in the Education Quarter of Ipswich. Based in a state of the art, £70m building situated on Rope Walk, just to the north of the main  Ipswich Waterfront Campus.

Providing a friendly and welcoming environment in which to learn, excellent facilities include a laboratory fitted with new equipment for concrete testing, tensile analysis and assessing the engineering properties of soil. It also offers convenient access to the waterfront amenities only a few minutes walk away.

University of Suffolk at West Suffolk College is located at the site of West Suffolk College, an established centre for Higher Education with a twenty year pedigree, delivering a range of courses to the local community and beyond, having its own unique identity and offering a friendly atmosphere in which to study. A wide range of career-related Foundation degrees are offered, which combine work with studying, as well as Honours degree programmes.

University of Suffolk at East Coast College has two locations, one in Lowestoft and one in Great Yarmouth, both providing a friendly and relaxed place to study, and a supportive environment.

University of Suffolk at East Coast College (Lowestoft) provides higher education courses to serve the academic, vocational, employment and professional needs of the communities in the East of England. In a bid to match the needs of the local community, University of Suffolk at East Coast College (Lowestoft) has recently developed the courses it offers, and now has a suite of Foundation degrees.

University of Suffolk at East Coast College (Great Yarmouth) is within easy reach of the meandering waterways of the Norfolk Broads, expanses of beautiful countryside and is a short train ride from the cultural city of Norwich. The University of Suffolk at east Coast College (Great Yarmouth) offers its students state-of-the-art facilities and industry-standard equipment on its growing range of Foundation and Honours degrees.

The majority of lecturers teaching Foundation and Honours degrees still work in, and are active in, their specialisms and have forged lasting relationships with employers.


Food Outlets


Cargo Cafe is open to staff, students and the public, offering a range of hot and cold drinks, snacks and lunch items. Cargo cafe is based in the Waterfront Building.

Cult Cafe bar is located on the ground floor of the James Hehir building and provides a new facility for students, staff and members of the public. Open each day at 8.00 am for breakfast, with the main menu being served until 9.00 pm and entertainment until late. University of Suffolk staff and students receive a generous 20% discount.

Campus Shop (including no-fee cashpoint)

The University of Suffolk Students' Union Campus Shop is located just outside the Library Building and offers student-priced food, drinks, hot fresh snacks from our bakery, cosmetics, confectionery as well as, stationery, art supplies, There is a cash machine (free withdrawals) outside the shop.