You are here

History News

National Student Survey 2021:

We're delighted to announce that we scored 100% student satisfaction again in the 2020 National Student Survey, our eleventh 100% score in twelve years!

Guardian League Table 2021:

We are also pleased to announce that we have been ranked 3rd in the UK for History in the most recent Guardian University Guide 2021 Subject Rankings!

Prizes and Awards:

Winners of the J.B. Weller Dissertation Prize:

The J.B. Weller Prize for the best final-year dissertation was inaugurated in 2009 in honour of Mr John Brian Weller, a supporter of and benefactor to History at Suffolk, who sadly passed away that year.

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2021 J.B.Weller Dissertation Prize is Denise Parkinson for her immensely original and meticulously-researched dissertation on the Spanish Flu pandemic in Suffolk. Denise receives £100 prize money in recognition of her outstanding dissertation.

2021: Denise Parkinson

2020: Aidan Coughlan

2019: Samantha Whitby

2018: Charlotte Bycroft

2017: Tracy Hickey

2016: Steve Dixon

2015: Amanda Markwell

2014: Gill Pluke and Jack Shaw (joint award)

2013: Mark Mayes

2012: Maurice Brenner

2011: Janet Shipman

2010: James Fisk

2009: Rosemary Thorogood

Winners of the Sally Williams Award for Special Merit:

In honour of former-student, the late Sally Williams, and in recognition of the extraordinary contribution she made to our programme, we inaugurated a new award for Special Merit in 2011. This discretionary award recognises a student who has made an exceptional contribution to the History community at Suffolk and/or shown exemplary commitment to their studies above and beyond the expectations of both staff and other students. We are delighted to announce our winner for 2021 is Sam Steele who has not only shown excellent progress in his studies, but has also made an exemplary contribution to the wider History community at Suffolk. He receives prize money of £100.

2021: Sam Steele 

2020: Luke Fitch and Rosie Collier (joint)

2019: Marvin Zimmerman

2018: Melanie Mathieson 

2017: Luke Kelleher

2016: Tracy Hickey

2015: Karen Toye

2014: Emily Strickland

2013: Jack Shaw

2012: Helen Gregory

2011: Charlotte Suleyman

Winners of the Anglia Research Prize for History

In 2019 Anglia Research Ltd of Ipswich, one of the UK's leading probate genealogy services, inaugurated an annual student award for the best student performance on our Suffolk Lives module. The first winner of this prize is Aidan Coughlan who will receive his prize from Anglia Research MD Peter Turvey at Aidan's graduation ceremony in 2020.

2019: Aidan Coughlan

Winners of the Ipswich Maritime Trust Prize:

A new prize was inaugurated by Ipswich Maritime Trust in 2014 to acknowledge the best essay on maritime history. This prize is intermittently awarded depending on whether students engage in maritime research. 

2017: Amanda Rawlins 

2016: Jonathan Buss

2015: Karen Toye

2014: Heather Gittins